Yeah, I forgot to blog about it. My bad.
But before I get to the main thing, I'll just go a little off topic.
This is sort of related to my old posts... the one where my blockmates think I'm so talented and stuff.
OKAY, THEY THINK I'M SOME KIND OF MODEL.
Like someone in my block is running for Student Council or something and they had a party... and they needed to get some people to model at the party. [I don't know if this is making any sense. But... yeah, they had some sorta fashion show at the party.] People were telling me stuff like, "Dude, go na. You're as good as hired there."
That was just weird. Anyway, moving on to the main topic.
Okay, so thankfully I was able to ride there with Katrina Banzon. We picked up Bam at the carpool terminal, and then made our way to La Salle.
We were early, so we bought food and then bummed in the classroom in front of the DJ place (Velasco 504). There were two people in the classroom na. Gito and Ice. Later on, we were joined by Pilar, who was a junior jock at Magic 89.9. Wow, experienced. And intimidating much. xD
Okay, so Cath was there too... and yeah.
Anyway, I think we were about 26 at first, so they split us up and got handfuls (4 people / 5 people at a time) to teach inside studio 1. The other half entered studio 2 for a talking workshop.
So they got Bam, me, Katrina, and Cath.
They explained that they had two microphones, two computers, one's used for communicating with the listeners and the other one is for the music... then there was the OH-SO-INTIMIDATING-BOARD with all the dials and buttons and shit.
While he was explaining everything, the only thought in my mind was "I have to text Ika Katalbas, I have to text Ika Katalbas..." kasi she texted me when I entered the studio, asking if I could catch up with her at around 5. It's a bit random, but then I also recalled the time I tried out for debate. I FAILED MISERABLY. Why? While they were explaining everything, I WAS READING A BOOK.
So in this occassion, I was distracted with the thought about contacting Erika that I didn't really absorb everything he said. SO. I'm not sure if I did the right stuff for the technical shiz. Like I KNOW I turned the mics on, said something, turned it off, and played music... BUT I'M NOT SURE IF I DID THINGS RIGHT.
So anyway, we went out basically feeling like shit. I think all of us were pretty much like, "What the fuck did we just do?"
Then... we went to the other studio. This part was fun. So the DJ people who were grading us told us to introduce ourselves and talk about ourselves a bit. Oh, and to loosen up and get rid of our nervousness.
So people were introducing themselves and stuff. I'm obviously all right with that, but I just didn't know what to say. So I just kept quiet muna and listened to the others.
I mean, some people were like, "Hi, I'm so and so. I'm talkative, and uh..." *pause* "Well, you're welcome to ask me any questions." /end
Anyway, some person talked and was ending... I kinda commented and started 'acting'. Like, you know when I make kwento and I use different voices for the different people in my kwento. Then the DJ people were like, "Okay, who's next? Who wants to introduce themselves?" and I was all, "Oh, hi. I'm Leeann, by the way." and the DJs laughed kasi I had such a long intro. [Which was me commenting on what the other person said.]
So I kept talking, I made kwento about why I came and how I decided I might as well go. I used different voices and stuff... and the DJs expressions were all like, O_O.
I paused and I said, "Sorry, was I talking too fast or too much?"
One of them blinked and was all, "Wow, I kinda got lost."
So I don't know if it was a good or bad thing.
Then we had another workshop. They made us read something [It seemed like summaries of Filipino movies] over and over again while they threw emotions at us. So when they say, "Sad" we're supposed to sound sad, etc.
When it was my turn, everyone was joking like, "Hala, we're hopeless na..." and somone was all, "Guys, I'll go to the bathroom muna. I'll be back in an hour. Leeann'll probably be done by then."
I think I did pretty okay at that workshop. Sad, depressed, happy, excited, ECSTATIC. Damn the last one, it threw me off. So guess what happened? My happy sort of sounded happy/preppy, and then the excited... well, I talked faster. Ecstatic? I TALKED REALLY REALLY FAST.
In the DJ's words (the one who had earlier commented, "Wow, I kinda got lost."), "You were like a machine gun. I don't think the computer can... keep up with you if you do that."
And the other DJs commented I kinda ate my words when I spoke fast. But on the postive side, I had NO DEAD AIR. Booyah~!
Oh yeah, I've been on air a for a bit because one of the DJs invited me to talk. XD The other auditioners were like, "Leeann, we know you want to join... Sige na, you go in the studio!"
AMAZINGLY, I DID NOT SWEAR. 8D
Anyway, truth be told, I'm sort of hoping I don't get accepted. I won't have free time anymore, because the shows would be held on Fridays and/or Saturdays. I'm finding out next Saturday, by the way, if I get in or not.
On the bright side, if I get accepted... I'll have a chance of HOSTING something. Huzzah~! Oh, and I'll ACTUALLY know songs now. I won't be as clueless. XD
[...But I really, really like free time.]
Monday, July 27, 2009
DJ Auditions.
Posted by Lee Ann at 12:49 AM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


0 comments:
Post a Comment