What's that?

generated by sloganizer.net

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Today was AWESOME.

Rode with Erika to school, talked with Kat Pertz and Erika and Michael, discovered Michael can yoyo.

So today, I had yoyoing class, right?
I joined and I thought the people holding the class were going to get professional people to talk... or they were yoyo enthusiasts, but they weren't that good.

When I got there, there was this guy in a green shirt doing tricks. I was like, "Oh shit, professional people here..."

I thought everyone else was being all modest and shit by not doing tricks. I wanted to practice a bit (just to see what tricks I could remember) but I was too intimidated by green shirt guy so I didn't really do anything besides long sleepers.

I see this guy with glasses fixing his yoyos and he's bending over his kit of YOYOS and STRINGS and omg there were so many yoyos. As in, more than one KIND. There was an off-string yoyo, butterfly shaped yoyos (not literally butterfly shaped, but that's the name), some regular shaped yoyos, etc. It somehow reminded me of my tacklebox of yoyos at home so I talked to him. "That's a pretty intense set," I say. He looks up at me and grins. "Yeah, I've been a yoyo player since 2003. What about you?" I shrug and admit I haven't been playing with my yoyo in a while, and that I only got into it when Super Yoyo was popular. "I really don't know much," I say. "I mean, I can repair yoyos and do basic tricks. That's about it."

Then the speaker comes up and I took that as a sign to get seated and listen.
He tells us, "Um... yoyos aren't that simple..."
Me: *thinking* That's great, I thought you were supposed to encourage us. Thanks a lot.
And he continued by telling us that there were many kinds of tricks and stuff. Then he told us about the parts of the yoyo, like there's the axle, bearings, the left half and the right half of the yoyo... basta useless things I already know.

Then he goes, "I'm going to do a trick... It's called the White Buddha."
Me: *thinking* FUCK, THAT'S FUCKING HARD.

Then he performs the trick which I swear must've lasted 3 minutes or something, like filled with spinning the yoyo (duh), making it flip and swinging it around and landing on the string and bouncing off the string... etc.

Then he's all, "That's basically a trick."
Me: *thinking* BASICALLY?! I mastered basic tricks and THAT is not BASIC. FUCK, I'M A NOOB HERE.

THEN THE GUY WITH GLASSES COMES UP, (I think his name was Kyle), AND FREAKING SHOWS OFF A LOT OF TRICKS. TURNS OUT HE WAS A NATIONAL YOYO WINNER FOR YOYOING.

Then two other yoyo pros came (also national yoyo winners) and one was hot, like he was white and he looked foreign and had a nice accent, hahahaha. They performed as well, and it was just like... omg I was so happy. It was like YouTube, only WITH MY OWN EYES.

ANYWAY, even the speaker was a yoyo national winner. I WAS IN AWE.
After their performances, the speaker was like... Okay, that's it. You can go on a break, but you can't leave just yet kasi you have to get your cards (as proof of attendance) but I don't have them yet, so you have to come back. But if you wanna stick around and ask us questions or ask us to teach you tricks, okay.

Took me a while to gather courage to ask Kyle to teach me. He taught me 3 tricks and he taught me how to wind my yoyo (kasi we modified it for longer spins). BUT I FORGOT 2 OF THEM, HAHAHA FML.

And during yoyo, I found this guy who looked a lot like someone from Woodrose. He LOOKED and SOUNDED like her so I couldn't help but glance/stare. I guess that gave the wrong message kasi I think he was hitting on me, like, he eventually found the courage to talk to me and hang out with me.

He was a super!noob, like he acknowledged it himself, but he really stayed around until 12 kasi he was yoyo-ing near me. O_o All he did was the basic motion of making the yoyo go up and down... and the long sleeper. O_o

Oh and Kyle was really nice to me, like he was inviting me to join their yoyo club ata, hahaha. OH AND I DISCOVERED I CAN LOOP THE LOOP. The weird thing is, I can only do it with my left hand. I borrowed Kyle's yoyos (which he used to win a competition pala, I felt so starstruck) and tried doing it simultaneously. I can't. I COULD do forward pass alternately with both hands, though. And Kyle was like, "Is this your first time using your left hand for yoyo?" and I said yes and he said I was the first person he's met that learned THAT quickly. For loop the loop, I mean. I felt awesome.

Then after that, I was going to go to BC's condo [BUT I SAW THE LEE ROCKS COMPETITION AND I REALLY, REALLY WANT TO JOIN. I'VE ALWAYS WANTED TO MODEL FOR LEE AND/OR COKE.] and I was talking to her on the phone. I passed by DZ and I felt bad kasi I was all, "Hi, sorry, I gotta go, bye." o_o

Hmm... then I went there, met Isis' new friend, uh... other stuff... my memory's jumbled.

Maica, Kaye, and Zars appeared eventually. We had no idea how to surprise BC so we put them in the banyo. BIG MISTAKE. It took FOREVER to get BC to go in the bathroom kasi BC was so damn suspicious, oh my freaking goodness we're never doing that again.

Trish, Loaf, and Venus came around and we all bummed in the condo. Then in Sinangag Express. Then in the condo.

I totally made Armaine wait and I'm still guilty. Ugh, miscommunication.
So yeah, it was kinda epic except for me making Armaine wait.

I'm still sorry Armaine.

0 comments: