What's that?

generated by sloganizer.net

Friday, June 5, 2009

Epic randomness, and the best part is that it's with mum!

So you guys know what happened in La Salle, right?

This is how I remember it, though.
It was Wednesday and I was stressing out because I just went to the clinic the day before... due to lack of sleep and stress. Oh yeah, and I lacked sleep again because I didn't manage to find people whom I could hitch with to school. :

So after two quizzes (which I am so sure I am failing), our president announced that classes were suspended because she and a handful of other blockmates got official looking text messages. I kinda bought it, because well, it was raining pretty hard and the streets flooded a bit.

Then my next teacher comes in a refuses to dismiss us because he didn't get any letter from official people from the school. Later on, this official looking guy with a sheet of paper walks in class and hands it to my teacher.

Mr. Rivero: Okay, guys. Classes are suspended, but not because of the rain. Apparently, a student has swine flu, so classes are suspended until June 15.

So I call my parents kasi I was supposed to commute home... but um, flood. Mum says she'd pick me up in front of EGI Taft Towers, or the building of BC's condo.

After a while, I get a call and mum tells me to take a ride to the airport instead. I was pretty shocked because I thought I'd go to HongKong the next day pa. And besides, I DIDN'T PACK. I WENT TO THE AIRPORT WITH THE CLOTHES I WORE TO SCHOOL AND WITH MY SCHOOL STUFF.

Oh yeah, I took a taxi. I had to pay him P500. : I got really dizzy in the ride because it was like STOP. INCH A BIT. STOP. INCH SOME MORE. STOP. Did I mention my phone was getting low batt? So yeah, sort of added to the panic.

Imagine that. And I was reading panicked text messages from my mom, too, regarding prayers to St. Michael and how I should sit in the back and not next to the driver for obvious reasons. :))

Anyway... so when I got there, mum knocked on my window and I had to run out... and run with her to the Stand-by desk. Then mum took me to the bathroom so I could change out of my jeans and chucks and wear something more presentable and formal-ish, just in case I could get upgraded and part of the flight to Hong Kong.

So yeah, we were praying and praying... then mum goes to the desk, gets my passport and boarding pass and mouths, "You got upgraded to first class!"

Praying to God and to my Guardian Angel rocks. :)) They are awesome. God and I really talk now, and He's been showing His Love a lot often now that I know that He's actually replying to me. So yeah, I talk to Him a lot now. :D

But there was this lady who got bumped off... :( Ana knows how I feel everytime someone gets left behind.

Me: Aww! D: I'm sorry. Would you like a hug?
Lady: You're so cute. :)) *hugs*
Me: I'LL PRAY FOR YOU! D8
Lady: Thank you!

I think I nearly said the same thing when I learned I got on the flight.

Me: I'd give you all hugs right now, but mum says I've got to run now. BUT THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

So yeah, we raaaaaaaan to the place and we were like the last ones to board. So... I got super spoiled on First Class. My cellphone died just in time. : Like, when they were telling us to shut our cellphones... mine died 5 seconds before they could even tell me. :

The whole trip, I listened to music. On Cathay, you can make your own playlists! :D I listened to Big Bang. :)) Haru Haru.

There was also Utada Hikaru, Asian Kung Fu Generation, FT Island, and... this female Korean Band that has songs like "Gee" and "Dear. Mom" or something.

I think Pao'd love it. :D

Nothing much interesting happened... except for when we got off the plane. One of the health officials was staring at me and he comments, "Wow, you're very beyootiful."

Hahaha, Chinese accent. I can't spell it so well, but I can imitate it. =))

So okay, we got to Hong Kong... went to the hotel, slept...

Woke up, bought bread (breakfast), took a bus to Siam Siu Po, had my ID done... went back to the airport, ate at Genki Sushi (I HAD 16 SALMON SUSHI, I WAS SO HAPPY) and then back to the hotel. Mum showed me where I could use computers... but I only used it for a while because it kept lagging. :

I watched Joe Jonas dance to Single Ladies. : Wtf.

Then I had to go back up to my room, cause mum was dressing up for her flight. I forgot how I suddenly went with her on her flight, but I did.

So we went to the airport to book me for a jump seat. We saw Tita Paty, Pao's mum. We had lunch with her again at Cathay City after. I BOUGHT CALBEE POTATO CHIPS, KINDER CHOCOLATE, AND THAT WEIRD GUMMY THING IN THE CHOCOLATE EGG-SHAPED THINGS. I love them. :) I was very, very happy.

Then Tita Paty brought me to the airport where I waited by myself for them to call my name and tell me if I got the jump seat or not. I was freaking 40 minutes early. : I was supposed to know by 4:10. They didn't even call me, so mum called me up on on the cell she lent me and told me to go to them. IT WAS ONLY THEN THAT THEY TOLD ME THAT I GOT THE JUMPSEAT. I HAD 15 MINUTES LEFT TO RUN TO GATE 62.

FUCKING GATE 62.

Mum told me to take the train if my gate was 30+. If not, I'd run on the walkalators.

Guy: Can you get there by yourself?
Me: Um, how do I take the train there?
Guy: *pulls out map* You are here. *makes a mark* You need to get here. *makes a mark on Gate 62* Okay, take the escalator down... take the train... go up, and run to gate 62. You can also make it to gate 62 if you ran all the way...

I wanted to go, "WHAT, YOU WANT ME TO RUN THAT FAR?!" but I didn't.

So I RAN RAN RAN to the escalators going down. I went down one floor and asked for directions. Went down one more floor, had to wait for the train... went up the really long escalator going up... tried running, failed... went up one more escalator... and ran/walked on the walkalators.

CAN I JUST SAY THAT RUNNING IN FLATS IS SO HARD?! The ones I own kinda slip off my feet... and they kinda hurt after a while. :

So yeah, I made it...

I was kinda bummed when I learned I got a jump seat. I was praying to God:

PLEASE let me on the flight with mum. I don't want to go home by myself and make myself a plane ticket and book myself on the flight and all those complicated stuff. And if you think you can still make it, could I please get upgraded again?

So I went through the Economy class line... then I see my mum greeting everyone as they got in the plane. She looked really relieved to see me -- I learned from someone else that she regretted having me carry a backpack because yeah, I had to run to gate 62 -- and I thought she was going to lead me to the jumpseat.

But then she told me to stay in this business class seat first. So I thought, okay, maybe she was just waiting for the rest of the passengers to sit down before leading me to my crummy seat. This other flight steward saw me and was about to lead me to the economy class, but I said my mum told me to wait there so he was all, "Ah, okay."

Then my mum got my backpack and placed it in the overhead compartment. That's when I realized that I was, in a way, upgraded. There were spare business class seats! God answered my prayers!

When I was sort of bummed I wasn't upgraded to first class -- Ew, spoiled thoughts -- I realized God put me in Business so mum could easily check up on me. :D

I love Business class. They have awesome seats (not as awesome as first class, but whatever) and they have... THE MASSAGE BUTTON. :D

Okay, I made playlists that lasted 10 hours put together. :))
I listened to Korean artists, Japanese ones, and... Mamma Mia and Hairspray. OH AND DISNEY.

Oh gosh, I remembered so many people as I listened. I didn't cry, amazingly.

I easily remembered Pao. :))
I also remembered the barkada (Whee~, Sophie, Mica, Amaw, Kat, Minky, Carmel, Kaycee, Pat, Pao) and our Disney Marathons.
I remembered sina Maica, BC, Zars, Kaye, Lea, Ana, Isa Fran, Ika Katalbas, etc etc... and even some of my college friends.

I remembered Bela Yatco because at one point, my playlist got stuck on the Mamma Mia songs. :))

It was so weird. But yeah, that just goes to show I love you guys.

Nothing really happened... o_o Well, I watched Bolt. Which came out the same time as Twilight did, I think.

Bolt reminded me of Bianca and Simone, because on the day I first told them that I was adopted, we also discussed Bolt. O_o

Anyways. So I met with the pilot and the co-pilots... and the rest of the crew. I introduced myself and thanked them all for taking care of me and letting me on the flight.

One of the co-pilots mentioned he saw me. Sleeping. While hugging a pillow. While this is scarily accurate, I have no idea how he managed to see me sleeping when, as far as I know, he's just supposed to stay in the cockpit. Unless co-pilots are allowed to walk around on the plane... which, as far as I know, doesn't seem right after the terrorists like... kill pilots so they can control planes. Really. We can't even enter the cockpits anymore, because they lock it.

Oh! I had a (sort of embarrassing) conversation with the female co-pilot.

Kait: You have amazingly coloured eyes! :D
Me: Um, sorry. These are contacts. O-o;;
Kait: Well, they're still an amazing colour.

It's kinda cold here. o-o But it's tolerable, so long as I don't drink anything cold... If I do, I start shivering.

Um. I noticed that people here love talking. I'm okay with that, like, I'd totally have conversations with them. :)) [I bet mum finds me weird, or she knows something I don't, because she keeps calling me so I'd stop my conversations with people].

I find it so weird. Many people sort of comment/flirt with my mom. :))
Many of them are like, "Are you two sisters?"

The most blunt one I've heard was, "Marry me~!"
I shit you not, my friends.

I'm not sure if this is normal here... or if people just love to joke/comment with flight attendants.

Oh. I also learned that I look like a 12 year old here. :

And I had this conversation that, after much thought, sort of worries me.

Bus Driver: So, how old are you?
Me: 18.
Bus Driver: Ah, you're safe...
Me: ?

Now that I think about it... was that comment for himself? Like, "Ah, you're 18. You're legal, I'm not being a pedo." kind of thing? O_o

Bus Driver: You look so young! You look 12!

The bus driver also thought I was Chinese. :))
Me: Really? Wow.
Bus Driver: Yeah, people'd ask you for your ID cause you really look young.

Uh... O-o Kay.

Guys, uh... are these conversations normal in America? I swear, it's so easy to talk to people here, so I just supposed these things are normal... Like people talking to my mum like that. O_o

Pretty wtf though. =)) "MARRY ME!"

0 comments: